GCash crypto review: GCrypto is worth using for small, occasional buys because it is already in your phone, transfers to and from your wallet are free and it is powered by PDAX, a BSP-licensed provider. It is not the cheapest place for larger trades, since the spread is baked into the price and never disclosed. We score it 8.4/10.
If you want the step-by-step, our GCash crypto guide already covers how to buy, send and receive. This page does something different: it gives a verdict. Who is behind GCrypto, what it really costs, where the limits bite, and how to measure the hidden cost yourself in two minutes. Everything here is based on GCash’s published help articles and pages as captured in our research on 26 to 28 September 2026. GCash’s help centre returned an access error (HTTP 403) when we tried to re-open it on 29 September, so we rely on that dated snapshot and mark anything we could not re-check. We did not run our own test trades.
The verdict in short
GCrypto earns 8.4 out of 10 in our ranking of crypto exchanges in the Philippines (see how we rate for the weights). It scores well on licence (the licensed party is PDAX), on peso access (your GCash wallet, with free top-ups) and on ease. It loses points on cost transparency, because the spread is not published, and on limits, because a Fully Verified account can pull only ₱100,000 a month back to the wallet. It is a convenience product. Judge it as one: for a few thousand pesos here and there, the convenience can be worth a wider spread; for ₱200,000 moves, it is not.
Who is legally behind GCrypto
GCash is a BSP-regulated e-money issuer, but it is not on the BSP list of virtual asset service providers. The licensed party is PDAX (Philippine Digital Asset Exchange), whose office is in Ortigas, Pasig. GCash’s help article “What is GCrypto?” says GCrypto is powered by PDAX. The marketing page at gcash.com says the service is operated by GCash and regulated by the BSP but, in the text we could read, does not name PDAX, so the help centre is the place to confirm the arrangement.
In practice: your crypto sits on PDAX infrastructure, you never see a PDAX login, and the anti-money-laundering rules of a licensed VASP apply. If a dispute ever involves the crypto side, expect PDAX to be part of the conversation. Read our PDAX review for a look at the exchange itself, and our list of licensed exchanges for the other eight holders. GCrypto requires a Fully Verified GCash account, per GCash’s own page.
What GCrypto really costs
GCash’s GCrypto fees article (updated 27 September 2026 in our snapshot) states that moving pesos between the GCash wallet and GCrypto is free, receiving crypto is free, and sending crypto carries a fee that varies by coin and includes the network fee. Buy and sell orders show no separate charge because the price “already includes service and platform fees” and updates about every 10 seconds.
Read that carefully. “No fee” means no line item. It does not mean no cost. The price you pay includes GCash’s margin, and GCash does not say how big it is. Compare that with a licensed order book: on Coins.ph on 28 September 2026 the best bid and ask for USDT/PHP were 62.50 and 62.51, a spread of about 0.02%, and for BTC/PHP 5,219,086 and 5,226,951, about 0.15%. Those are live-market snapshots, not GCrypto prices, but they show what a tight market looks like. The GCash quote can be tighter or wider than that; the point is that you should look.
Measure the spread yourself in two minutes
This is the most useful thing we can offer, and it works on GCrypto, Maya or any app that shows separate buy and sell prices.
- Open the coin you care about (start with USDT or BTC) and note the buy price shown.
- Right away, switch to Sell for the same coin and note the sell price. Take a screenshot of each, because prices refresh every 10 seconds.
- Calculate: (buy price − sell price) ÷ buy price × 100. That percentage is the instant round-trip cost.
- Repeat with a small token and at a different time of day. Smaller tokens usually show wider gaps.
As an illustration only (not a GCrypto quote): if a coin showed a buy price of ₱100 and a sell price of ₱99, the spread is 1%. Buying ₱10,000 and selling a minute later with no market move would return about ₱9,900. If your number comes out at 0.2%, GCrypto is competitive for the amounts you trade. If it comes out at several percent on a coin you plan to trade often, use the result to decide whether to move to an order book. We compare routes in our crypto fees and spreads guide.
Limits and what they mean in practice
GCash’s GCrypto transaction limits article (updated 28 September 2026 in our snapshot) sets these caps.
| Limit | Fully Verified | GCash Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Top-up to GCrypto | ₱100,000 a day | ₱100,000 a day |
| Withdraw to GCash wallet | ₱100,000 a month | ₱500,000 a month |
| Minimum order | 1 USDT / 0.00002 BTC | 1 USDT / 0.00002 BTC |
| Maximum order | 1,000,000 USDT | 1,000,000 USDT |
The daily top-up is generous. The monthly withdrawal is the constraint. If you top up ₱100,000, buy, and the position doubles, you cannot bring ₱200,000 back to your wallet in one month on a Fully Verified account. You can hold the crypto, and you can send coins to an outside address (where the network fee applies), but the peso exit is capped. That is a poor fit for freelancers who convert client payments every month. By contrast, PDAX allows a Verified user to withdraw up to ₱1 million of crypto a day.
Coins and listings
GCash’s coins and networks article (26 September 2026 in our snapshot) lists about 45 distinct assets across 53 token-and-network combinations. That includes Bitcoin, Ether, stablecoins such as USDC, PYUSD and EURC, gold-backed GOLD and PAXG (GOLD from ₱500), and USDT on TRON, TON, Celo, Kaia and Avalanche. USDC arrived in March 2025 with Circle. Limit orders are supported, which lets you avoid buying at the instant price if you are patient.
That is fewer than PDAX (73) or Coins.ph (about 150), but the mix suits most people: the big coins, the main stablecoins on several networks, and no need to install anything. For stablecoin flows see our USDT guide.
Promotions
GCash has run trading promotions. One we saw, in March 2026, offered a ₱1,000 USDT rebate for every ₱100,000 of USDT traded. We did not confirm whether it is still running, and a promo is not a reason to trade more than you planned. Check the in-app banner and GCash’s help centre for current terms.
The 3.05 app rating: what it does and does not tell you
On the Philippine iOS App Store, GCash showed a 3.05 rating from about 163,000 ratings on 28 September 2026. That score belongs to the entire GCash app, which handles payments, transfers, loans, savings and more for tens of millions of users. It is a poor guide to the crypto section. There is no separate public rating for GCrypto, and we did not run our own hands-on tests, so we do not claim the crypto screens are better or worse than that number suggests.
What it does say is that the app is heavily used, and heavy use brings the odd outage. If GCrypto acts up, our GCash crypto guide lists the common causes.
Pros and cons
What works
- No new app: it sits inside GCash
- Free transfers between wallet and GCrypto
- Powered by PDAX, a BSP-licensed VASP
- Low minimum: 1 USDT or 0.00002 BTC
- About 45 assets, USDT on several networks
- Send, receive and limit orders included
Watch out
- Spread built into the price and not disclosed
- Withdraw to wallet capped at ₱100,000 a month (Fully Verified)
- Send fees vary by coin and network
- Needs a Fully Verified GCash account
- No order book and no OTC route
- App rating (3.05) reflects the whole GCash app
Who GCrypto suits
First-timers
You already have a Fully Verified GCash wallet and want to see how crypto feels with a small amount. Convenience beats a wider spread when the stake is ₱1,000.
Occasional stablecoin users
You get paid in USDT now and then and want a quick route to pesos in a wallet you spend from. Watch the network you receive on.
Regular or large traders
The spread compounds, and the monthly cap gets in the way. A licensed order book gives you visible prices and higher limits.
If you split your money, using GCash for spending and something else for saving in crypto is a common pattern. Our Maya crypto review covers the other big wallet: Maya has its own licence and a ₱1 minimum, and it also hides its spread. For getting pesos out afterwards, see selling crypto for cash.
GCrypto vs the alternatives
Against PDAX (score 8.6), GCrypto is simpler but less flexible; PDAX is the licensed exchange under the hood. Against Maya (8.1), GCrypto offers more assets and published limits, while Maya offers a lower minimum. Against a global platform such as CEX.IO (8.9), the trade-off is licence and peso rails versus coin choice and card payments: CEX.IO is registered with FinCEN and the Bank of Spain and has run since 2013, but it is not BSP-licensed and does not take GCash or InstaPay; see our CEX.IO review. Whatever you use, record each buy and sell with dates and peso values, because gains can have tax consequences; our crypto tax guide explains what to keep, and our guide to crypto scams shows what to avoid.
Frequently asked questions
Is GCash crypto legit?
Yes. GCrypto is powered by PDAX, which is on the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas list of licensed virtual asset service providers, and GCash itself is a BSP-regulated e-money issuer. GCash is not on the VASP list in its own name. Legitimate does not mean risk-free: prices can fall fast and scams that get you to send coins away cannot be reversed.
Is GCash crypto worth it?
It is worth it for convenience and small amounts: no new app, free transfers between your wallet and GCrypto, and a low minimum of 1 USDT. It is less attractive for large or frequent trades because the spread is built into the price and not disclosed, and withdrawals back to GCash are capped at ₱100,000 a month for Fully Verified users.
What is the GCrypto spread and how do I check it?
The spread is the gap between the price GCrypto sells a coin to you and the price it buys it back. GCash does not publish it. To measure it, open the same coin and compare the buy and sell quote at the same moment, then divide the difference by the buy price. Repeat it at a different time, because prices refresh every 10 seconds.
What is the GCash crypto limit?
Fully Verified accounts can top up GCrypto with up to ₱100,000 a day and withdraw up to ₱100,000 a month to the GCash wallet. GCash Plus keeps the ₱100,000 daily top-up but allows ₱500,000 a month in withdrawals. Order minimums are 1 USDT or 0.00002 BTC, and the maximum is 1,000,000 USDT.
GCrypto or PDAX: which is better?
GCrypto is easier and lives inside GCash; PDAX is the licensed exchange behind it, with an order book, 73 coins, higher limits and an OTC desk, but a more involved app. Choose GCrypto for small, occasional buys. Choose PDAX if you trade larger sums or want to avoid an undisclosed spread and the ₱100,000 monthly withdrawal cap.
Why is the GCash app rated only 3.05?
The 3.05 rating on the Philippine App Store (about 163,000 ratings, checked 28 September 2026) covers the whole GCash app, with payments, loans, savings and everything else, not just GCrypto. It tells you little about the crypto section specifically. There is no separate public rating for GCrypto.